The College Girl’s Guide to Making Fitness a Priority

Laura Sled Push

A sled push is a fun way to take your workout outside!

Let’s be honest: The struggle is real in college.

I’ve spent the last five years of my life in an accelerated Undergraduate/Masters Architecture Program at Kansas State University. As I look to graduation in May and stepping off into the real world I know the busy lifestyle will only continue and making time for the gym will still feel like a challenge.

Does this sound familiar to you? The first three years of my college education were spent juggling school work, making time for friends and family and occasionally visiting the gym a few times a week. When I felt overwhelmed, one of the first things to go was always the workout.

By the time I started my fourth year of schooling I realized fitness was something very important to me and, like my classes, was something I wanted to commit to. Hitting the gym not only kept me healthy, but it kept my mood bright even when school work and relationships seemed to be crashing down on top of me. I had finally figured out that in order to stay happy and healthy I needed to make fitness a priority. 

Are you riding the struggle bus this semester? Here are some fun, easy ways you can make time for the gym this year. 

1. Find a time of day that works best for you
 Some people are morning people some people feel more energized in the evening. The sooner you learn to workout at a time that your body responds to the best, the easier it will be to motivate yourself to show up.

2. Just show up
For me the hardest part was just getting to the gym in the first place. Once I’m there I’m ready to go and get my sweat on! The battle was always getting out of bed or avoiding the urge to go straight home after a long day of class. I can say the only workout I ever regretted was the one I didn’t do.

3. Use a buddy system
Working out alone is okay but working out with a friend is so much more fun! Try to find someone who also wants to make sure they get their gym time in during the day. This will help guarantee that you’ll show up because you won’t want to let the other person down by bailing at the last minute. If you can’t find a buddy at least have a friend that you tell about your workout during the day, make it a habit to have someone hold you a little bit accountable for going.

Laura top of clean

Where will your fitness journey take you? Mine took me to a parking lot for this workout.

4. Make fitness a priority
While I am focusing making the Kettlebell Sport National Team, I will sometimes say no to a hangout with friends to make sure I get my workout in. It wasn’t always like that though! Making the gym a priority doesn’t mean you can never have any time for social gatherings or personal time, but it does mean you have to decide to commit to the sweat and burn. After two weeks of going, it’ll start feeling normal. At a month? It’s a habit. I’m at the point that my whole day will feel off if I don’t get my workout in and that’s something I’m just not willing to live with.

Keep in mind starting a regular fitness regimen can be a challenge. I certainly didn’t get to where I am today in a month or even a year (check out some of my throwback Thursdays!). My journey with fitness has been years in the making. Be patient, celebrate every success — big or small — and commit to a happier, healthier lifestyle.

Like what you see? Follow me on Instagram or Twitter for more fitness motivation.

Leave a Reply

