Why I Always Take Part in the CrossFit Open

Laura's Clean

My 130lb clean and jerk during 15.a of the open

It’s that time of year again!  It’s finally CrossFit Open time, and for active Crossfitters it’s like the 4th of July (minus the fireworks).

So, what is it exactly?
For those of you not in the know, the CrossFit Open is a five workout, five week competition that anyone actively participating in CrossFit can take part in. The workouts are always a surprise and are announced Thursday at 5 p.m. PST. Each participant then has until the following Monday at 5 p.m. PST to complete the workout and enter their score online. It’s literally an open competition for everyone across the U.S. and the world to participate in! It’s a really cool way to see how you stack up against some of the best CrossFit athletes in the world, or, if you’re like me, to see how I stack up against my family and friends.

The CrossFit Open is a way for me to test myself, enjoy a competition atmosphere with friends, compete against my mother and sister and be a part of something bigger than myself.

Laura Deadlift

My first clean and jerk attempt starting position. “The quiet before the storm”

Why should I care?
A lot of Crossfitters have told me they don’t want to do the Open because they are scared or they don’t want pay the $20 registration fee. While I am not a regional hopeful or even a team athlete, I always feel the need to participate because I learn so much about myself each Open season and how I can push my body and mind to knew limits. As for the cost, it’s probably one of the cheapest competition prices you could ever find, especially if you continue to progress through the coming weeks. Most people pay $20 for a free T-shirt and a 30-minute run during a 5k. Why wouldn’t you give the CrossFit Open a chance too?

One of the reasons CrossFit has been so successful is because there are real goals and ways to measure success in training. This is my third year doing the Open and I am excited to see how much I’ve improved from the last two years. I spoke about the group atmosphere and the coaches in last weeks blog post “4 Reasons Why I Chose Group Fitness Over the Conventional Gym” but I also believe having a standard measure, where thousands of people around the world are testing themselves on the same workouts at the same time as you, is something very powerful. It’s very rare to be part of such a global competition — and it’s an honor at that!

Let’s compare notes on how we’re doing each week. Join me in the 2015 CrossFit Open experience or follow my journey on Twitter or Instagram

Leave a Reply

