What’s In MY Grocery Cart?

whole shot of foodAs a busy college student I find it hard to fit everything into my schedule. One of the first things that used to disappear when I had deadlines to meet was my healthy diet. Over the years I have managed to figure out a way to combat this dilemma by keeping a regular array of healthy foods in my pantry and by creating a pretty basic grocery list that I reuse over and over again.

Now I’m not a dietitian and I by no means have all the answers to the perfect diet but I do know that the way I eat works for my body and helps to keep me energized for my busy days. I need lots of protein, vegetables and fruits in order to stay on top of my game. Also I need carbs not as much as the other main foods I mentioned but I need them or else I feel sluggish and lack energy. My usual weekly shopping list reflects these needs and I even manage to sneak a few treats in there sometimes.

If you’ve ever done your own grocery shopping you know that walking into a grocery store can be overwhelming. There are so many signs, colors and even smells that are working to distract you from your planned out grocery list. I shop at Dillons or HyVee depending on the day and which other errands I have to run for the day. I have developed three simple rules to help me stay on track

1. Have my list out and ready as soon as I walk in the grocery store door.

2. Stay on the perimeter of the store this is where most of the fresh and healthy foods are located. The fresh produce, deli, bakery, meat department and finally the dairy department. 

3. Don’t go to the store hungry!!! If I go hungry I’m going to end up buying a bunch of extra food (probably salty and sweet snacks that are pretty unhealthy).

A normal grocery list would look something like this

  • lettuce
  • tomatoesclose up food
  • cucumber
  • sweet potatoes
  • apples
  • blueberries (or whatever is on sale)
  • mushrooms
  • any other fruit or veggies that catch my eye or that are on sale
  • eggs (I prefer farm fresh eggs but I’ll take what I can get)
  • deli meat and cheese (I use this as snacks throughout the week)
  • meat (I tend to buy whatever is on sale and I try to mix it up each week, variety keeps my taste buds happy!)
  • cottage cheese
  • yogurt
  • milk (I drink 2% it’s one of my vices)
  • this week naked juices were on sale so I bought myself a few of those as a treat!
  • quinoa/rice (I use quinoa for breakfast and I eat rice with many of my dinner meals)lettuce and apples zoomed in

The list will change throughout the months but the basics remains the same, protein, fruits and veggies, dairy and some carbs. I tend not to eat bread or pasta but that can change if I’m having a craving or treating myself after weighing for a competition.

Want more food tips and motivation? Follow me on Twitter or Instagram!

Leave a Reply

