Third Times A Charm: AKA/IKSFA Holiday Kettlebell Sport Championship

Barely two weeks after competing at the IUKL World Championship I was competing once again at the AKA/IKSFA Holiday Kettlebell Sport Championship. Only this time I was making my debut competing with 20kg biathlon.

Laura 20kg jerkIt was kind of a scary thought knowing I would be throwing 20kg (45lbs) around above my head in a one arm jerk and a snatch, but I was up for the challenge. Biathlon is my favourite event to compete in; simply because I get to do TWO ten minutes sets on the platform. That’s two chances to show what you’re made of!!

One of the best things about the AKA/IKSFA Holiday Kettlebell Sport Championship is its a meet where I am always challenging myself and stepping outside my comfort zone. Some of you may know that this was my third time competing at this meet and this meet marks my two year anniversary of being a competitive kettlebell sport athlete. In 2014 I was wide eyed and bushy tailed competing in 12kg biathlon before I even really understood what kettlebell sport was. The following year later I competed for the first time in 20kg one arm longcycle. Finally this year 20kg biathlon was my event of choice. All of these events were new to me and the one thing that links them together is this meet. I don’t know why but I always choose to challenge myself at the Holiday Championship and I am always glad that I do.laura 20kg snatch

I really surprised myself this year, getting 71 reps of one arm jerk and 60 reps of snatch. I never would have imagined I could have done that well….have I mentioned how heavy 20kg feels! I impressed myself and it only shows that I continue to grow as a person and as an athlete. I am so excited to see what I will be doing this time next year and what new event I will choose to challenge myself with.

Want to continue to follow my fitness journey? Follow  me on Instagram or Twitter!

Leave a Reply

