Post Nationals: What’s Next?

Laura Zoomed In

Just trying to be relaxed as possible during my competition set!

They say the third times the charm, right? Unfortunately, not this time. While my performance at the 2016 USA Nationals was my best to date, it wasn’t everything. It left me hungry for more.

Here’s what happened: I took first in the 58kg weight class for 111 reps of 16kg snatch. Again, not bad but not good either. In a sport where it’s relatively easy for women to hit 150 to 200 reps in a snatch set, barely managing to hit 111 felt like a failure.

So, I’m making some changes. I didn’t reach the goals I had set for myself this time around. After some soul searching (and some much needed time off), I’m ready to train harder and smarter than ever. I have a new fire inside me, and I’m ready to hit the ground running.

  • There are few technique nuances I need to fix.
  • I’m coming into this next training year with a different attitude, too.
  • I’m ready to focus 100% on my own training and not compare myself to what other athletes in the sport are doing.
    This is my personal journey and it’s not going to look or feel like anyone else’s.  If I focus on what I need to do I will eventually get where I’m trying to go. Maybe it will take me longer than anyone else, maybe it will be harder, maybe I will continue to miss the mark on my own personal goals, but that’s OK. I’m finally OK with that.
Laura Acceleration Pull

Can anyone say ‘merica!?

Every year I look back on my kettlebell journey, and I am able to see how much progress I  have made and how much I have learned.  I love this sport. I have met so many amazing people and I continue to be inspired by others competing in this sport. I’m not going anywhere.

If you are interested in following my journey check me out on Instagram or Twittter!

 

Leave a Reply

